There is little advanced technology in The Realm, as the rulers of The Realm set humanity back to the 17th century. Finn, who escaped from Incarceron, believes The Realm is little different from Incarceron. The story starts off with Attia, who helped Finn while unable to escape herself. She acts as the assistant to a magician named the Dark Enchanter, whose real name is "Rix".

Author:Gardakora Zulkis
Country:United Arab Emirates
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):5 January 2008
PDF File Size:1.68 Mb
ePub File Size:6.34 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

She was born in and lives in Newport, Gwent. Her origin is also Wales and aside from writing books, she also a poet. So far, she has written nineteen novels, all of which have been translated into seventeen different languages. Many of her works are award winning and they have been shortlisted for literary awards. Her impeccable work and achievements have been a great source of inspiration for many upcoming authors.

She did a degree in English and graduated with the same. She lectured in the University of Glamorgan and is a Welsh Academy fellow. In her set of skills also is the fact that she is an acclaimed adjudicator and an experienced broadcaster. She has induced a great reading culture in young children and young adults. This is a good culture to have, as it exercises the brain muscles, making one more sharp. In the same year, , she won the prestigious Cardiff International Poetry Competition.

Towards the late s, she started writing kids fantasy books, and for these she won even more literary awards. This award was won in Another award was the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for the book Corbenic. Some literary nominations that Catherine Fisher has been recognized for are: The Bram Stoker Award for the best work for young readers. The metaphysical, in other words, concerns the supernatural. This series of poetry was penned down within the Christian era and hence has Christian connotations.

It generally preserves aspects of the Irish mythology. In this book, a young hero sets out on a journey to discover their destiny and fulfil their purpose. They end up in other fantastic islands and they may or may not return to their homeland. This piece is very descriptive and reflects a combination of both the Irish culture and the Christian religion and beliefs. It was first published in and shortlisted for the Smarties Books prize.

The main characters in this book are Alick and Luke Ferris. In this book, Alick is disturbed about where Luke Ferris gets his healing powers.

Alick also wonders why Luke has six fingers. The Halcombe Great Wood, where the book setting is established, has strange happenings and Alick suspects that Luke has some connections to this sinister on-goings. Without his knowledge, Alick unleashes terrifying and dark forces on this world which terrorize the occupants.

The book has since been revised and edited a couple of times and has 96 pages The Oracle Prophesy Trilogy This is a series of novels, combining many tales. The first book in this series is called the Oracle. It combines Greek and Egyptian elements or adventure and magic. The series in no time became an international bestseller attracting a nomination. The other books in this series are: The Archon The Sphere of Secrets, US edition , published in ; the Scarab The Day of the Scarab, US edition , published in The plot for these books has a fictional world set-up and the period is a drought period.

Archon is the God on Earth and has been called to die, so that the land can have Water through rain. The god had nine priestesses attending to him and one of them was called Mirany. Mirany also had the duty of the bearer of the god and her roles and duties as bearer of the god were to hold the god in a bronze bowl in scorpion form.

Mirany however, does not feel safe with the god because occasionally, the god is fickle and claims the life of bearers. The speaker is one of the nine priestesses and the senior most, who relayed messages from the god to the rest of the land. During the procession, taking the Archon to death, the speaker relays the message that the god is being betrayed and will soon die.

Mirany however, has internal doubt, of whether this god is real or just imposed by her seniors to acquire favor. During this procession, the Archon is killed by the Scorpion that bears him. She soon discovers a plot by Hermia the speaker and Argelin, the general to control the land. Archon died in the hands of the two, as revealed to Mirany.

In this case, Mirany, Oblek, the musician and Seth, a scribe, must find, rescue and reinstate the former Archon, before the two do. Conclusion Catherine Fisher is clearly fascinated with the metaphysical and the mythical. She has, over the years written great pieces on the same and is a great writer, evidenced by her awards and nominations. She has authored many other books and poetry literature.

She has been stated as one of the greatest fantasy authors and her works have been distributed on a world wide scale, most of which are best sellers. Catherine not only has historic books and poetry, but also has futuristic works, for instance the incarnation. People have described it as an exciting, captivating piece. So far, her works have not been dramatized into movies, but one cannot rule out that fact. We recently conducted a poll among visitors and the Memory Man series was voted the 8th most favourite series by all readers.

If you ARE an avid reader of it then great news — a new book is coming out very soon!!! Pre-order now. Please Note The links beside each book title will take you to Amazon, who I feel are the best online retailer for books where you can read more about the book, or purchase it. Please note that as an Amazon Associate, I earn money from qualifying purchases. Recommendations Every 2 weeks we send out an e-mail with Book Recommendations.

Insert your e-mail below to start getting these recommendations. If you see one missing just send me an e-mail below. Then you need to read the Coffeehouse Mysteries. This series by Cleo Coyle has been going strong since and is still publishing highly rated books every year. An excellent series to get you through the cold months. More details. However there is a lot more to Blake than just that series. He has written some of the best sci-fi books there is such as Dark Matter and Recursion.

More Details.


Sapphique (Incarceron Series #2)






Related Articles