Kothari Commission is also known as the Indian Education commission was appointed by the government of India towards the end of the third five-year plan. This commission was headed by Dr. Purpose of appointing education commission In order to remove the defects in the field of education, the government appoints a new education commission to advise the government on the national pattern of education along with general principles and policies for the development of education at all stages. This commission was built in under the guidance of the Indian Constitution. Learn more about the Indian Constitution and Education.

Author:Zulkibei Voodoosar
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):22 September 2012
PDF File Size:10.12 Mb
ePub File Size:1.41 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Director, Centre for the Study of World Religions, Harvard University Task Forces and Working Groups[ edit ] The main front line activities were handled by nineteen task forces or working groups, each handling a specific area of activity. The group was composed of three foreign members, J.

Jha, Abdul Qadir, G. Chandiramani, A. Deshpande, Durgabai Deshmukh , K. Joshi, D. Kalia, T. Koshy, M. Mehra, A. Moore, J. Naik , M. Randhawa , K. Saiyidain, Sohan Singh and group secretary, S. McDougall and R. The Indian members included B. Dandekar, K. Kanungo, A. Joshi , S.

Mehrotra, S. Mukherji, J. Naik , K. Naik , N. Panikar, C. Ranganathan, S. Verma and secretary, S. The group focused on the development of agricultural education.

Task Force on Educational Administration This twelve member group examined the shortcomings on the educational administration and had Prem Kirpal, A. Deve Gowda, V. Jagannadham, M. Mathur , S. Mukherjee, J. Naik , H. Patel , D. Sen, J. Sharma, V. Sharma, Rudra Dutt Singh and S. Rajan secretary as its members. Task Force on Educational Finance The task before the group was to examine the existing set up with regard to educational finance and identify ways to overcome the shortfalls.

The group had M. Mathur , D. Dabholkar, B. Dutta, R. Gopalaswami, K. Naqvi, Pritam Singh and Gurbax Singh secretary as its members. The group was one of the largest and had 20 members, including three overseas members, J. McDougall, Hans Simons and H. The Indian members were K. Saiyidain, J. Airan, P. Bose, Chandrahasan, V. Jha, A. Joshi, K. Joshi, C. Kapur, D. Kothari , M. Mathur , P. Mavlankar, J. Naik , P.

Philip, A. Shah, Amrik Singh, R. Singh and S. Rehman secretary. Task Force on Manpower The group had twelve members which included R. Gopalaswami, Abdul Qadir, K. Joshi, M. Mathur , J. Naik , R. Prasad, T. Sen and S. The group had its mandate to examine the recruitment and training of teaching and non teaching staff.

Task Force on Techniques and Methods in Education This seventeen member task force was entrusted with the designing of the functional mechanics of the educational system. The members were V. Jha, G. Athalye later replaced by S. Ahluwallia , M. Bharadwaj, A. Dawood, S. Dutt, C.

Kapur, S. Kulkarni, J. Mathur, J. McDougall, S. Mitra, J. Naik, Paul Neurath, S. Panandikar, Albert J. Perrelli, S. Rehman, J. Ure later replaced by D. Smith and S. Chari, who served as the Secretary. Task Force on Professional, Vocational and Technical Education The group trained its focus on the professional and vocational courses. The group had sixteen members including the associate secretary, J. The other members were T. Sen, S. Bose, G. Chandiramani, L. Chandrakant, D. Dhingra, R.

Dogra, V.


Kothari Commission

As a part of reform in curriculum, the commission suggested the following: In view of the explosion of knowledge in various fields, school curriculum should be upgraded through research in curriculum development undertaken by university department of Education, Training Colleges, State Institutes of Education and Boards of School Education. Research is needed in the preparation of text books and teaching learning materials. Teachers should be oriented to the revised curricula through in-service education. Schools should be given freedom to devise and experiment with new curricula suited to their needs. State Board of Education should prepare advanced curricula in all subjects and introduce them in a phased manner in the schools.


Kothari Education Commission (1964-66)



Kothari Commission (1964-66)




Related Articles